Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest in the Solar System. It is a giant planet with a mass one-thousandth that of the Sun, but two and a half times that of all the other planets in the Solar System combined. Jupiter is a gas giant, along with Saturn, with the other two giant planets, Uranus and Neptune, being ice giants.

Jupiter was known to astronomers of ancient times. The Romans named it after their god Jupiter. When viewed from Earth, Jupiter can reach an apparent magnitude of −2.94, bright enough for its reflected light to cast shadows, and making it on average the third-brightest object in the night sky after the Moon and Venus

Radius: 43,441 miles (69,911 km)

Surface area: 23.71 billion sq miles (61.42 billion km²)

Orbital distance: 483.77 million miles (778.55 million km)

Orbital order: 5

Orbital period: 11.86 years

Gravity: 81.33 feet/s² (24.79 m/s²

Galilean moons. The largest four moons of Jupiter – Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto – were discovered by Galileo in 1610 and are known as the Galilean moons. They each have a radii larger than any of the dwarf planets and they are some of the largest objects in the solar system outside of the eight planets by mass.

Create a presentation like this one
Share it on social medias
Share it on your own
Share it on social medias
Share it on your own

How to export your presentation

Please use Google Chrome to obtain the best export results.

How to export your presentation

New presentation

by 222391


Public - 9/28/16, 3:56 PM