• Buddhism started in 7th century BCE.
  • It began in Buddhas' birthplace called Lumbini.
  • Lumbini was where modern day Nepal is.


  • The founder of Buddhism is known as Siddhartha Guatama.
  • Siddhartha was born in 5th century BCE. 
  • He was a prince, until age 29, that fled from his palace and saw an old man, a sick man, and a corpse.
  • After seeing this he turned into a monk after adopting the harsh poverty of Indian asceticism.
  • Siddhartha is also the prophet of Buddhism named Buddha.

Basic Beliefs/Rules/Practices

  • Buddhists believe that the path to enlightenment crossed through the practice and development of morality,meditation and wisdom.
  • They don't have to go to a temple to worship or meditate
  • The Buddhists live by the Five Moral Precepts.
  • The Five Moral Precepts refrain from harming living things, taking what is not given, sexual misconduct, lying or gossip, or taking intoxicating substances.

  • Buddhism spread by people immigrating and talking to other people.
  • Buddhism is basically just spread out all over the place.
  • Buddhism has 376 million followers worldwide.
  • Buddhism didn't have a military force because they didn't belive in hurtin people. 

Role of Women

  • In early Buddhism women were allowed to join Buddhas' monastic community.
  • Buddha said that there are seven types of women.  the first three are destined for unhappiness, and the other four are imbued with long term self control.  They are also destined for happiness.
  • There are limits on women's attainments in Buddhism.
  • Buddha said that women can attain enlightenment, but there can never be a female Buddha.

Mahayana Buddhism

  • There are two main Buddhists sects.  Theravada Buddhism and Mahayana Buddhism.
  • Mahayana Buddhism is the same as Theravada Buddhism except for the practices you use to reach enlightenment.
  • There is a Boddhisattva Vow that says they will save sentient beings,extinguish all defilements, master all dharmas, and attain enlightenment.
  • the three bodies of Buddha, The Trikaya, states that Buddha has three bodies.

Theravada Buddhism

  • Theravada Buddhism doesn't believes in the supernatural or that there is a God.
  • Theravada Buddhism is the Buddhism that most people think all Buddhism is like.
  • These people follow the Five Precepts and believe that meditation is the only way to reach enlightenment.

Buddhism Holy Days

  • Sangha Day is the second most important festival in Buddhism.
  • Sangha Day is the gathering of 1,250 monks to hear Buddha preach at Veluvana Vihara.
  • Parinirvana Day marks the death of Buddha.
  • They celebrate because they believe that after he attained enlightenment he achieved freedom from physical existence and its sufferings.
  • Losar is the most important day of the year because it celebrates the Tibetan New Year.


  • In the afterlife for Buddhism you are believed to have been reborn into another body or you enter Nirvana.
  • Only Buddhas could enter Nirvana.
  • Every time you die in Buddhism you could be reincarnated as a human, donkey, etc.


  • The lotus flower represents purity and enlightenment.
  • The endless knot or the mandala represents eternal harmony
  • The Bohdi tree represents the spot where Buddha reached Nibbana
  • The Dharma Wheel means royalty.

Holy Books

  • The Tripitaka is one of the three sacred text of Buddhism.
  • It is full of Sutras or teachings of Buddha.
  • The Mahayana Sutras are just a ton of Sutras put together
  • The Tibetan Book of the Dead is the third and final Holy book of Buddhism.

Where Buddhism is practiced today

Where Buddhism is practiced today

Create a presentation like this one
Share it on social medias
Share it on your own
Share it on social medias
Share it on your own

How to export your presentation

Please use Google Chrome to obtain the best export results.

How to export your presentation

Buddhism Project

by brodymclaughlin21


Public - 10/13/16, 2:29 AM